I had a Black Dog; depression and anxiety on the mind

Alexis writes

As a warning, this blog post talks about depression, anxiety, and suicide. 

I have depression and anxiety.

I don’t talk about it much. In fact, when I do talk about it, I’m often told not to talk about it. Sometimes directly and sometimes not. Sometimes kindly and sometimes not. It’s taken me a long time to feel comfortable saying it aloud: I have depression and anxiety. I have also seen people be criticized for their vulnerability in sharing about various identities. People have literally been forced into silence about an identity that is incredibly salient to them because they don’t feel safe to share. This same thing makes me hesitant to share about some of mine. I withhold information for fear of making other people uncomfortable, and worse yet, for fear of being marked as faulty. But something I have learned is that by sharing about my struggles, I am part…

View original post 677 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

