Ninth Annual FWA Conference

 

Unforgettable Characters

Well, we are back from the ninth annual writer’s conference and resting up for next year. I had a wonderful time, and have met even more friends this year than last. I actually read from some of my manuscript in this class in front of everyone. This is Adrian Fogelin’s class, Unforgettable Stories/ Unforgettable Characters. It was terrific.

I had attended Donna Ballman’s class on Quilling a lawyer, but had to leave to pitch to Amy Burkhardt, from Kimberley Cameron & Associates. Which I hope went well. I sent her a synopsis and the first fifty pages of Behind Green Eyes. Now it’s the waiting game. After the pitch, I decided to pop in Adrian’s class and I’m so happy I did. What fun. In fact the whole conference was a great learning experience and a great deal of fun. What wonderful people writers are.

The only thing negative I have to say is I wish the hotel we stay at had more to offer our guests. We writers are busy all day, but my husband is bored to tears, but wants to be supportive of me. He actually walks miles just to have something to do. And there isn’t anything to walk too besides, Publix, Walgreens, and a bunch of restaurant and bars. Maybe if it were located in Orlando, perhaps on the strip by Universal, Sea World, Ripley’s, The Convention Center. I can’t remember the name of the street, but it is busy and has buses and trolleys to take you around. Not to mention many hotels. I’m partial to Embassy Suites because of the free full breakfast, and of course, free cocktail hour. The rates are reasonable and I’m sure even better if we held a conference there.

Anyway, that is the only thing I don’t like. The rest of the conference is great and does get better every year.

Please feel free to make any comments. I would love to hear about anyone’s experience.

Hugs

Heidi

www.mypalmcoastnow.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

Filed under What's Happening

Leave a Reply

